The Greatest Among You

A forum for those serving the distressed among us.

Service

with one comment

This is my new blog using this format and blog host.  Expanding my horizons. This blog is about Service. My intention is to create an environment that will be used by organizations that use volunteers, the volunteers themselves, charities, churches, or anyone that is reaching out to help people that are distressed.  I’ve done volunteer work with the Nevada Cancer Institute, but my hours at work changed, so I can’t do that on a scheduled basis. I can and will work special events with them though. I do want to get involved with helping Vets. I am one, and know (and remember) the extremely tough transition. I’m thinking that by sharing our experiences as volunteers we can help motivate others to do the same.  I want this to also be a place where organizations that need some help can post what they do and what they need. I suspect there will be religious content, no, I know there will be religious content, because most charity and volunteer work are done by religious groups and people with traditional values. Plus, the ‘greatest among you’ idea is from Jesus. He said, “But he who is greatest among you shall be your servant.” I think those who serve are the greatest among us, and I salute you all.  I’ll start with what I know locally, what groups and what people. I’ll write about the history of serving others, the motivations, the rewards, and the results .

If you serve, or knows someone that deserves recognition for serving, please post it here.  If you’re from an organization that needs help, this is the place to make it known. Please share your experiences. Those of us that have, and do serve, know the truth of the statement that it’s better to give than receive. (Some too need to learn to receive. You can’t only give, sometimes you too need help.)  Jesus again:  “Give, and it will be given to you: good measure, pressed down, shaken together, and running over will be put into your bosom For with the same measure that you use, it will be measured back to you.”

Written by metaphysicalperegrine

May 30, 2009 at 7:36 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations, Steven, My Friend — You’ve done it again!! This blog is DESTINE FOR GREATNESS!! What a perfect homebase for people & orgs to magnetize to! May God bless all your efforts & endeavors! 8~D

    Bonnie Spano

    June 6, 2009 at 7:04 pm


Leave a comment